Tropic Gas (aka Tropic Fuel?)

Stoner Fam this is the busiest time of year for me at work and after about a month of not using hardly any cannabis I am winding down with Tropic Gas in my bubbler tonite, coming in at 21.8% THC. It definitely has a gasoline smell along with the aroma of overripe fruit. Each time I smell it to try and discern what the notes are I keep wanting to smell it more. It’s wonderfully stinky. The description says 70% indica 30% sativa, and that sounds about right. I’m feeling relaxed and listening to Duran Duran and some of my tension is leaving.

This music really takes me back to a different downtown Portland. Portland in the 80s was epic. The 90s were good too, an art explosion, originality, and flair. Then it got ruined by the tv show Portlandia, which popularized it such that it lost its uniqueness and became more commercial and catering to tourists and weekend suburban visitors.

In the 80s we colored and spiked our hair, wore our trenchcoats and smoked cloves on our way to all the record stores looking for rare British imports and drank loads of coffee at The Metro since we were too young too drink. We’d pay a bum under the Burnside bridge to buy beer for us and get tanked on Olde English 800 in one of the public bathrooms on the Waterfront and smoke weed. Man those were the days! Tropic Gas is taking me back there, so thank you once again, Goddess Ganja!

I never smoked much pot before it became legal, maybe 20 times or less before the age of 48. I have a green thumb and a ton of house plants, so when cannabis became legal and I started smoking it, the thought of being able to grow my own marijuana was so unbelievably lucky and precious given that it was illegal just about everywhere else in the world. I just had to do it! Grow it because I could! It has been a huge learning experience, let me tell ya!

Leave a comment